Be Intentional.

Today was a busy day! I think all of us are a little under the weather. It was a sweet day, though. In the midst of all the hectic activities, I was able to spend about an hour with Colin. My car was low on fuel after I picked him up from school and he wanted to fill it up “like Daddy.” Since it was cold (and he’d never done it) I wasn’t wild about the idea. But — he asked very sweetly and I agreed. The first pump was broken. We drove over to another one and started the process. He had questions about everything! Why are there three kinds of gas? What would happen if gas got on me? Where does the gas come from? Do trucks put gas in the ground at the gas station? I found myself becoming impatient and wanting to hurry him. I then remembered what someone had said in Bible study last week about being intentional about the things that matter most to us. I slowed down, listened to my son, answered his questions, and let him be a “gentleman” and pump gas for his Mommy. What a sweet time we shared as I quieted my spirit and made sure that Colin had my whole heart and all my attention. We talked quite a bit on the way home and even sat in front of the house for about 20 minutes while he shared a dream that he had last night, a special game he played at school, and an experience that “hurt his heart.”

There was nothing new about the time we shared today. I love spending time with my sons and talking to them. However, today was special because I realized the importance of being intentional and living in the moment. Too often I’m worried about my list of things to do or whatever it is that I have to take care of in the next hour or so.

This evening I spent some sweet time with Davis as well. He was upset because it wasn’t his turn to build a Lego helicopter. He was also tired. I distracted him with a story and he then entertained me with stories of his own. He loved that the time we spent together was all about him!

Soon my sons will be of the age where I’m the one trying hard to get them to share their thoughts and their dreams. I want to treasure this time where they give me that gift freely. I’m sure that I will miss these special times. I’ve already experienced how quickly time flies!

Published in: on February 18, 2009 at 1:24 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danielislandliving.wordpress.com/2009/02/18/be-intentional/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

