Seventeen years later…

Seventeen years ago, when we were seniors in high school, my husband and I went on our first date. We went to California Dreaming in Greenville, SC. Chad was not allowed to use his car (because he had gotten a speeding ticket the week before) so I picked him up and drove us to the restaurant! It was a stormy evening and a car in front of us on I-85 had a minor accident. We stopped to help and eventually ended up at the restaurant late for our reservation and soaking wet. I remember it like it was yesterday. It was the beginning of the rest of our lives.

I love being married to my high school sweetheart. We have a shared history. Our parents have known us since we were children and it makes for a very special bond. I truly can’t believe that seventeen years have passed since our evening at California Dreaming!! Where does the time go? Seventeen years from now my boys will be graduating from college. I hope it doesn’t fly by just as quickly.

This evening, Chad and I went to the California Dreaming here in Charleston to commemorate that special date. It’s funny how I don’t feel much older today than I did back then! We now have children and responsibilities and those exciting first years of adulthood are only memories. I wonder — do people ever feel their age?

I’m so thankful for where we are in life. We are amazingly blessed.

Published in: on March 6, 2009 at 2:41 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danielislandliving.wordpress.com/2009/03/06/seventeen-years-later/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

