More weekend fun!

The weather has been great, the pool at the Daniel Island Club is open, and we had our first Farmer’s Market on Thursday — it doesn’t get much better than this!

I love this time of year! It marks the start of my favorite season. Granted, I don’t know how much I’ll enjoy it this year with a new baby arriving in a few weeks, but we made the most of it this weekend.

The Farmer’s Market was a hit! I’m so excited to see it make it’s debut on DI. The produce was magnificent, there was plenty of fun for the boys, and the dinner options were fabulous! We had stuffed crepes from the Charleston Crepe Company (http://www.charlestoncrepecompany.com/) that were to die for. The crepes were stuffed with mushrooms, cheese, spinach and bacon! My in-laws picked up a delicious strawberry-rhubarb pie that we all enjoyed greatly. There was a jump castle there as well. I can’t wait to go again on Thursday.

farmers-market

Saturday we had an early tee-ball game. It’s amazing to see how much the boys have improved in such a short time. We love their coaches and feel that their encouraging demeanor is great for our little team. Since Chad was out of town, my father-in-law was gracious enough to step in and take care of the lineup in the dugout. It was great to see him so involved with the kids!

colin-in-the-outfield2

davis-at-bat

Then we were off to the pool. Since I’m not doing too much swimming these days, I basically sit in a lounge chair and watch the kids while I drink lemonade and eat something :). The pool set up is perfect for this since it is a “beach entry” and the boys have a HUGE area that isn’t more than three and a half feet deep.

pool-time

My in-laws joined us and the fun began! The boys had a blast! My father in law took them to the deep end and treaded water while the boys jumped off the diving board over and over again. Colin (5) is a pretty good swimmer but this was a HUGE deal for Davis (4).  Unfortunately, my iPhone is slow and I didn’t get any good photos of them in the air but you can see the big splash!

davis-on-the-diving-board

colin-jumping-off

Then they decided to be brave and go down the water slide. Now, if you’ve never been to the pool at the Daniel Island Club, this doesn’t seem like a big deal. Let me tell you, it is scary! I won’t even go down the thing … it’s filled with rushing water and twists around several times before shooting you into a pool of water.  Most kids get flipped over and come shooting out head first and on their backs. The boys tried it once last year and then wanted nothing to do with it. I don’t know what got into them this weekend but they went down the slide over and over again!! I’m sure it had a lot to do with Poppy (Chad’s dad) encouraging them to give it a try. After that, they were pros. You can see the slide in the background behind Davis in this photo:

davis-with-waterslide-in-the-background

We’ll take full advantage of the pool this summer. I love the fact that I don’t have to bring anything! They provide towels, sunscreen, drinks, and good food. On summer evenings, we’ll bring the boys pajamas with us and give them showers in the outdoor stalls. That way, when we get home, they are well-fed and ready for bed.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danielislandliving.wordpress.com/2009/05/06/more-weekend-fun/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

