My baby starts Kindergarten on Tuesday :(

August 14, 2009

Where does the time go?? Colin starts kindergarten on Tuesday. KINDERGARTEN!!! I remember the day he was born and the first time we made eye contact like it was yesterday.

I don’t know why I’m having such a hard time with this. A better mom would be so excited for her child! Maybe it’s because kindergarten seem so… final. Once you get on the “school train” it doesn’t stop until you go to college.

This summer has been a big one for Colin. He has become a determined young man with a will of his own. He has learned to dive, ride a bike without training wheels, do chores, and even completed a hike up and down Whiteside Mountain (that usually leaves most adults huffing and puffing) with amazing ease. He is reading well, writing beautifully and has become quite the little artist. Since he played flag football and t-ball last year, and completed golf and tennis camp again this summer, Colin has decided to play soccer this fall and is very coordinated.

Chad's Iphone July 09 008

August 2009 iPhone 002

We bought his uniforms for school a few days ago and I’m washing and ironing them today to get ready for school. He has a new lunchbox and school supplies so we’re ready to go.

002

I won’t let Colin see my tears on Tuesday but I’m sure that I’ll be shedding them!! Please pray that I won’t pass my feelings of anxiety and sadness along to my little guy. This weepy, sentimental mommy wants him to have a FANTASTIC first day and school year. After all, as good parents, aren’t we supposed to prepare our children to be independent? 😉

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danielislandliving.wordpress.com/2009/08/18/my-baby-starts-kindergarten-on-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

