Mitchell Wharf

It’s hard for me to describe how excited I am about the upcoming home site release on Daniel Island.

Part of me is quite nostalgic because I have so many sweet memories of our family playing and picnicking on the beach below the bluff when the land was undeveloped.

We would put on our old shoes and fill an LL Bean bag full of food and bottles of water and head through the brush until we came to an opening. From there it was easy to make our way down to the beach. Someone had tied a  rope to a tree that hangs out over the Wando River and the boys would swing back and forth as best as they could. I remember how little Davis was the first time we went out there. I think I had to carry him down and he didn’t like getting sand on his feet!

It’s weird to think that 13 families are going to build homes on our old “stomping ground” and that the beach will then be off-limits to us 😦

But… what an amazing piece of property! The views are absolutely spectacular and I don’t know of any other property on DI where there is such a nice beach along the river. We loved sitting there, hidden from the world, watching the boats go by. The boys would let the waves lap at their feet but then squeal and run back to the bluff if a boat came by and made the “waves” bigger!

I will post some photos later but this is on my mind today. I went out a few days ago and saw that steps have been installed where we used to clamber down from the bluff.

I’m excited for the people who will eventually live there. I hope a couple of my clients end up buying these lots so that I can always have access to our special beach 🙂

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danielislandliving.wordpress.com/2010/02/25/mitchell-wharf/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Overview of Mitchell Wharf I’ve posted about Mitchell Wharf before. It is one of our favorite spots on Daniel Island! I took some photos today that I wanted to […]


Leave a Reply

