The End of the Day

Today was one of “those” days. Nothing went as planned, I didn’t feel well and I found myself looking forward to the end of the day. I couldn’t wait to get home, have supper, put the kids to bed, and just chill out.

At around 5:45, I was getting ready to leave the office but I had one more phone call to make. I ended up chatting with a client that I haven’t seen in a while and we caught up for a few minutes. As we discussed the weather and when our cold snap would be over, she said something that stopped me in my tracks. She said, ” Well, it’s not great but we can’t spend our time wishing our lives away.”

Wow. How often do I live in anticipation of the next thing? The weekend, vacation, spring, the baby to sleep through the night (which thankfully he’s done for a long time), Christmas… the list is endless. It goes back to what I’ve written about before: being intentional and living in the moment. I don’t want life to pass me by while I’m waiting for the next thing. I want to enjoy the journey itself.

So the boys are asleep, the fire is on and my feet are up. I’m in a much better frame of mind than I was in earlier. Thanks to Karen for putting me back on track 🙂

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danielislandliving.wordpress.com/2010/03/03/the-end-of-the-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

