Anxious for Nothing

I’m a worrier. I don’t want to be —- but it seems I’m always weighing the worst case scenario in all of my decisions. On vacation, I try to put the boys in the room that’s easiest to get to in case of a fire.  I buy Tylenol before I need it (and restock it as necessary) to make sure it hasn’t been contaminated (like what happened when I was young). I make sure that Miles is breathing before I go to bed. The list is endless…Totally neurotic, I know.

I know all this worrying doesn’t get me anywhere. God knows the number of our days and nothing I can do will change that. If something tragic happened, would I grieve any less by worrying more? Of course not. The Bible tells us to be anxious for nothing. In fact, God tells us to stop our worrying! Why is it so hard for me to turn everything over to Him?

So… I’ve been praying for a peaceful spirit. To enjoy the moment instead of feeling nostalgic. To be at rest instead of anxious. Yesterday I read this verse:

When I said, “My foot is slipping”

Your love, O Lord, supported me.

When anxiety was great within me,

Your consolation brought joy to my soul.

Psalm 94:18-19

I’m grateful for these words and will try to rest in His promises! I just want to enjoy each moment…

Published in: on March 12, 2010 at 8:30 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danielislandliving.wordpress.com/2010/03/12/anxious-for-nothing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You seems to be a very protective mother and I am too . I think it’s kind of normal to us mother to be very protective to our son. My husband told me that I’m getting pessimistic.

    • Trying to balance being protective and not letting them experience the fun stuff in life. It’s tough being a mom!!


Leave a Reply

